Here comes the sun

Saturday was a glorious day and driving back from yoga in the morning I just wanted to be outside enjoying the sun’s rays.  Our place is dark. And cold.  Great in the heat of summer, but not so good when I want bright light and sunshine.  The courtyards face the wrong way.  They get sun, but not when I want it.

So it was off to the park with a basket  – crusty fresh bread, tomato sliced with a generous pour of olive oil (for bread dipping), some goat cheese (recently discovered a lovely aged French goat cheese that comes in a lovely bamboo container), a bottle of Italian white wine, a couple of sarongs and cushion to lie on and the weekend papers.  What could be simpler?    It was glorious.  Our local park is large with oak trees providing ample shade and nicely grassed for those of us who love to bask in the rays of the sun.

I was engrossed in my reading but could hear a repeated thump/thwack noise.  I looked up and saw a boy hitting a tennis ball against the brick wall of the pergola.  There were couples strolling by and families with prams, quietly chatting away in a myriad of languages.  How perfect, I thought.  A park for all reasons. And blissfully I returned to my reading, enjoying my food, wine and sun.

About taniajl

My life revolves around food and wine - what else is there? I think about food all the time, mainly what I would like to eat/cook at the end of the day. My greatest joy is coming home at the end of the day, pouring a glass of wine and starting to cook. When I go away on holidays and have to eat out 3 times a day, I get a bit stir crazy. Thinking about food, shopping for food and preparing food is as important as eating food. And without the former, life is just not the same. Oh, I also love talking about food. View all posts by taniajl

One response to “Here comes the sun

Leave a Reply

