Rhubarb, rhubarb

The other day I bought a bunch of rhubarb – it was big and a deep crimson colour with contrasting bright green leaves andlooked so fresh I wanted to eat it immediately . I stewed it with some sugar and now have a huge bowlful in the fridge from which I take helpings of to accompany my porridge.

I use real oats (as opposed to the instant variety) and cook them with some dessicated coconut and water (Just 2 mins in the microwave!!).   Each morning I pack my oats and coconut mixture and rhubarb and strawberries into little containers to take to work.  I also pack whatever leftovers there are for lunch.  Today it was leek and pumpkin risotto.

 

I generally eat my breakfast sometime between 9 and 10.  Today I got busy.  And then I got hungry.  At 10 o’clock I was ready to eat my lunch.  Porridge wasn’t going to cut it.  I waited till after 11 and heated up my risotto.

 

Now its after 2pm and I’m thinking about my porridge and rhubarb.  I’m having a topsy kind of a day.

 

 

About taniajl

My life revolves around food and wine - what else is there? I think about food all the time, mainly what I would like to eat/cook at the end of the day. My greatest joy is coming home at the end of the day, pouring a glass of wine and starting to cook. When I go away on holidays and have to eat out 3 times a day, I get a bit stir crazy. Thinking about food, shopping for food and preparing food is as important as eating food. And without the former, life is just not the same. Oh, I also love talking about food. View all posts by taniajl

2 responses to “Rhubarb, rhubarb

  • Michael

    Early breakfast morphs into late dessert. All good!

  • traveldogue

    My favourite meal is brinner. Poached eggs, spinach topped with garlic butter, lightly tossed mushrooms with black pepper and some ‘real’ toasted bread. I like it at 8pm with a pot of tea and a good DVD. I want some of that strawberry and rhubarb on the side please.
    Now that’s a late late breaky!

Leave a Reply

