Too many fishes

Each time I go to the Fish Markets I swear I will never go again.  Not just because it takes forever to turn into the markets and then another age to find a parking spot and the slow crawl to get out, but because I never seem to be able to leave without spending a small fortune on too many fishes.

I go with the sole intent (no pun intended) of just purchasing what I came for. But inevitably I see gorgeous produce and my mind starts turning: the mulloway would be perfect for a carpaccio with blood orange and fennel;  scallops marinated Japanese style and served on a bed of julienned cucumber and topped with thin strips of nori and toasted sesame seed.  And sardines.  I can’t seem to go by these.  They’re perfect crumbed in a mixture of panko breadcrumbs, chopped garlic, chilli, and whatever herbs are on hand and then quickly pan fired.   And before I know it, I’ve come away with enough seafood for a feast.  Happily, I only buy small quantities and we get to enjoy a series of lovely little dishes.  So despite the extravagance, it actually serves the purpose of fulfilling a number of needs:  thinking about food, shopping for food, preparing food and finally, best of all, eating fabulous food.

About taniajl

My life revolves around food and wine - what else is there? I think about food all the time, mainly what I would like to eat/cook at the end of the day. My greatest joy is coming home at the end of the day, pouring a glass of wine and starting to cook. When I go away on holidays and have to eat out 3 times a day, I get a bit stir crazy. Thinking about food, shopping for food and preparing food is as important as eating food. And without the former, life is just not the same. Oh, I also love talking about food. View all posts by taniajl

2 responses to “Too many fishes

  • traveldogue

    This all sounds a bit fishy…
    However, being on the receiving end of quite a few of those dishes that you have just described I would have to say how happy I am that you go on these expeditions. And then invite us over 🙂
    Cheers.

  • traveldogue

    I find it ‘fishy too’. How can you spend so much time thinking about and eating so much food when you are so gorgeous and trim?
    Will

Leave a Reply

